Home

Ketchup is a locally owned business in Dundee.  I was told to go here because it is supposedly an American Style Diner.  Growing up in New England, I would be a good person to judge. Image

The style of the restaurant and seemingly of the food did sort-of make me think of an upscale Friendly’s or Applebee’s (two family restaurant’s), but not the look.  To me it was a little off kilter, the tables seemed to be like American, and I guess I could relate some of the décor to restaurants back home- like the older fashioned ones.  But walking up, this place just didn’t shout “American” to me.  Interestingly enough, the friend I was with is also from the U.S., but he is from New York.  He thought upon first glance that it looked kind of American.

Image(Applebee’s)

I guess America is too big of a place; it must be more of a New York Style restaurant then a Maine style restaurant.  Part of this has a lot to do with atmosphere.  In the U.S., I have only really seen family style restaurants with a bar area, but Ketchup didn’t allow in anyone under 18- definitely not a family place so much as it is a bar.  This is probably why it didn’t resonate as American to me since Maine is a very family-oriented place.  (On a side note, I am only twenty and the drinking age in America is 21.  Perhaps we do have bars this style in Maine, and I just haven’t been able to see them; but I doubt it.)

Image

(Friendly’s)

Basically my conclusion is that Ketchup will advertise as an American-style restaurant in order to have an excuse to overprice their food.  This would not be a good place to eat in the U.S. because it is so expensive- even for “gourmet” burgers.  This may be a good place for students because of the atmosphere, and the half price burger student discount.  Students will go anywhere they can get a discount, even if it only makes the price normal.  When compared to an actual American burger joint -like Burger King or Subway- Ketchup is definitely trying to raise their standards to a higher price higher service.  Burger Kings here are also a lot classier than at home.  U.K.’s BK seems to try to raise their standards to a classier place to get better quality for lower price.  Burger King was definitely trying to be very modern, hip, and futuristic looking while Ketchup was representing and old-school American style.

Image

Our Burger kings (Thought not exactly) are very similar to the 24 hour bakery here in Dundee.  The thing about the bakery is that they have fast food, in all senses- speedy service, quick to cook junky food.  Perfect when drunk (hence 24 hours) and great for Students like in Dundee.  This is along the lines of the burger joints around home- open late for students, cheaper lower quality food and fast service.  Basically on the opposite side of the graph from Ketchup.

Leave a comment